ICC Champions Trophy

Betting Bonus
Claim Bonus
β‚Ή1000 FREE BET
500% Welcome Bonus plus 25 free spins
100% Bonus Up To β‚Ή7,700
1XBet Logo
100% Bonus on the First Deposit up to 10400 INR use promocode CBT130
80 Wager Free Spins
+ Money Back On Every Bet
100% up to €100 bonus + 100 FREE SPINS
Zodiac Bet
100% Up To $100
100% up toβ‚Ή50,000

About The ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions Trophy was an ODI tournament that first took place in 1998. Originally known as the ICC Knockout Tournament, this was a short tournament put together by the International Cricket Council. The tournament has used both a round-robin and knockout format. Matches have been held in seven different countries, and England has hosted the tournament three times.

The 1998 tournament took place in the Bangabandhu National Stadium. The final match was between Wales and South Africa, with South Africa ultimately winning. West Indies player Philo Wallace was the tournament’s lead scorer.

The next tournament took place in 2000 at Kenya’s Gymkhana Club Ground. Every test playing nation participated in this tournament. The finals were between India and New Zealand and New Zealand were the victors. Sourav Ganguly, the skipper for India, was the lead scorer in the tournament.

The 2002 tournament was held in Sri Lanka. While the finals were between India and Sri Lanka, the actual match was delayed several times because of the weather. Ultimately, the match was declared to be a draw. Indian player Virender Sehwag had the most runs in the tournament.

In 2004, England hosted the tournament for the first time. This tournament marks the first time that the United States played in an ODI tournament. This was the first competition to function more like a knockout series. The West Indies team won thanks to players like Ian Bradshaw.

India hosted the tournament in 2006. The format was once again changed for this tournament, with games being played round-robin style. The final match was between West Indies and Australia, and Australia won by eight wickets. Several different venues were used for the tournament, including Mumbai and Jaipur.

While the 2008 tournament was originally scheduled to be held in Pakistan, it was later moved to South Africa. The final was between Australia and New Zealand, and Australia won for the second year in a row. It was a close game, with Australia winning by six wickets.

In 2013, the tournament was hosted by England and Wales. While Australia had seen incredible success in previous tournaments, they were unable to continue their winning streak. They failed to win a single match and were knocked out early on. The finals were between India and England, and India won for the second time. Shikhar Dhawan scored the most runs in the series.

The final tournament was held in 2017. England and Wales played the hosts once again. Unfortunately, poor weather and security concerns took a toll on the tournament. Several games were rained out, and the Manchester attacks had many people on high alert. The finals were between India and Pakistan. Even though Pakistan was the lowest-ranked team in the competition, they managed to beat India by 180 runs.

Although the tournament has been scrapped, there has been some talk of starting it up again. The ICC has proposed an ODI League, and there have also been discussions about a new World Cup. Currently, there are no plans for another ICC champions tournament.